College Student

My educational background consists of a period of migrations between California and Mexico. I am in touch with my Mexican background because of my migrant circumstances. When I was growing up, I had to migrate like my mom. Our low socio economic situation required this migration. My mom is a strawberry picker from May to December in California, and a housewife January til late April in Mexico. Rent in Mexico is affordable for a breadwinning working caretaker of six with a lower than minimum wage job. My mom has struggled constantly to keep a family fed and housed. With government assistance this has become possible, but barely. I have lived in economically harsh conditions all my life. Oppression has been a constant part of my life, but only recently, have I learned the language to describe it. Through my education, I realized I was being raised by unintentionally psychologically and emotionally abusive care takers who had never been taught how to properly care for anyone not even themselves. I was also being discriminated upon at school and at home because of the color of my skin and my perceived sex. In school and at home, I experienced overt and covert sexism and racism. As if economic disadvantage, sexism, racism were not enough, when I got to college I realized I was also a member of the LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, Queer) community. That is when I started noting the homophobic treatment I was given for not acting feminine or heterosexual enough. In my spare time I furthered my understanding of the way society has been constructed to oppress marginalizes communities through a process of human socialization. Through my educational experience, I have learned that the societies in the world are shaped through and unspoken set of rules that get systematically socialized into an individual's psychology from birth. I was not born to economic, racial, sexual, or psychological privilege. This has consequences for my education. I will be discriminated upon by faculty, by teachers, by students, and by every human being who fails to get to re-socialise themselves by questioning the stereotypes my intersectionalities have been given by mass media. Some people choose to pass judgement on me due to my physical traits, and I cannot do anything of that, other than seek to educate those who are willing to learn. I will be stereotyped, objectified, ignored, dismissed, racially profiled etc. My college experience has been a difficult learning experience for me because I have learned through my courses, that I have been at a disadvantage my whole life and will keep facing inequalities until the day I die. I have not quit my educational pursuits despite all these difficulties because since my early childhood development, I have built resilience. I have come to understand that if I want to get through all these social barriers, I need to become three times better than my white male opponent, and I need to become twice as informed about social dynamics. In this way I hope to further my educational achievements and learn not to blame myself because of someone else’s judgement of who they think I am, or who they think I should be. To further my education I am in need of financial assistance from individuals like yourself who believe in me and are willing to support me economically in my search for educational success.

Stock Price


Share Me Share Me

About Me

My Investors

RFDF Investors Fund
August 17, 2016

30

RFDF Investors Fund
December 5, 2016

51.2


My Tasks

Task Name
Tier
Status
Value
A basic introduction to the concept of inflation and how it affects cost of living. 1 Approved - Paid $51.2
Watch Khan Academy Video on the basics of the U.S. tax system 1 Approved - Paid $30