College Student

I grew up in Woodville, CA -- a small rural town of about 1,500 residents in the Central Valley. Agriculture was, and continues to be, an immense factor in my life. As a child, while attending the local elementary school about half a mile from my home, an all-to-common scene was catching my parents and older siblings leave home before sunrise -- often before 5:00 a.m. My siblings and I would leave for school while my parents and older siblings worked all day, even hours past our dismissal from school. I'd usually fall asleep after having cleaned the house with my sisters while waiting for my others siblings to arrive home from high school where they'd get bused in from Porterville -- the bigger city nearby. After waking up, I'd find my parents dirty, tired and hungry in the kitchen making dinner. Their muddy shoes and work equipment, often a bag used to carry oranges, were placed just outside the front door. Working the fields meant long, hard days of back-breaking labor. When I reached the age of 11, my mother began to take me along with her to pick oranges; the little fruit I picked soon added up. I hated waking up so early and often with very cold weather. I never understood why, out of my 10 siblings, I'd get chosen to accompany my mother on weekends. Nevertheless, the experiences that I learned were priceless. Usually foggy and wet, we'd wait outside our fence to be picked up. I continue, to this day, helping my parents in the fields as it is the only way I can learn to value what I have and also help provide for my family. Going along with my parents gives me the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of what it is to be an immigrant in this country. It helps me re-evaluate what I have done in life and where and what I want to do in the future. Due to health complications and aging, my mother and father are unable to work and provide the way they used to. Having three brothers deported back to Mexico set us back as we struggled to cope with the sudden change and also explore new ways to bring in and extra flow of income. As immigrants with little ways to better ourselves, farm working provides the means for our necessities.

Presently, I am studying journalism at Fresno City College. I am in my fourth semester with only one more to go until I am eligible to transfer onto a university. At FCC, I began taking journalism courses during my first semester as I was eager to quickly jump into my intended major. During my second semester at FCC, I joined the campus newspaper, The Rampage as a news reporter. My experiences were great. I am now in my third semester at The Rampage and am the current Editor-in-Chief. Print journalism has become a deep interest in my life since the first time I set foot into our newsroom at The Rampage. I am proud to have become the EIC and expect to lead and do great things.

My intention with studying journalism was and still is to become a broadcast journalist. I want to become a television news reporter for a local news station. Eventually, I'd like to work my way up to a national news agency like ABC, CNN or AlJazeera America. I admire the work they do in journalism. While I work on my bachelors in journalism, I will also work on getting a minor in multimedia journalism.

Stock Price


Share Me Share Me

About Me

My Investors

RFDF Investors Fund
March 2, 2015

100

RFDF Investors Fund
June 26, 2015

110


My Tasks

Task Name
Tier
Status
Value
Watch Khan Academy video on the topic of Raising Money for a Startup 1 Approved - Paid $100